What is the Clean Clothes Campaign?

We’re more than happy to buy a T-shirt at a low price in a major chain store. This purchase can mask the significant contribution made by the fashion and textile industry towards human exploitation. It features the world’s lowest average salaries (source: ADEME), and unsanitary factories. That’s if the workers are not work camp inmates in countries under totalitarian regimes. Since 1989, ONGs and associations have joined forces to get information out there and get things moving in the direction of change. That’s the Clean Clothes Campaign.

The Clean Clothes Campaign’s crusade is about instilling a sense of responsibility in textile industry multinationals. It is also about securing decent working conditions for their employees – who do outsourced jobs in countries where labour is cheap and workers’ rights barely exist – and having their rights upheld.

Its ambition: working conditions that reflect respect for workers

Set up in the Netherlands in 1989, the Clean Clothes Campaign aims to raise awareness of the working conditions experienced by the employees of textile subcontracting firms. This international Clean Clothes campaign gained momentum after the various disasters that occurred, not least in Bangladesh in the 2000s: the collapse of the Spectrum factory in 2005 (64 fatalities and more than 80 people injured), the Tazreen factory fire in 2012 (112 fatalities) and the Smart Export fire in January 2013 (8 fatalities), and of course the collapse of the Rana Plaza building in Daca in 2013 (1,127 fatalities). This year, this subject is being brought to the forefront by the fate of the Uyghurs (a Turkish Muslim community in China). They are being placed in forced labour camps and used as a workforce by big brands.
Also in the spotlight are the subcontracting firms who went unpaid by big brands during the first wave of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Accordingly, the Clean Clothes Campaign has put together a “Labour Code” for the textile and sportswear industries that sets forth (among other principles) a minimum age threshold, fixed working hours, safety-checked equipment and the right to a decent salary. The Clean Clothes Campaign is applying pressure to distributors and producers for them to adopt this Code of Labour Practices. It also works in favour of equal pay, women’s rights and the consumer’s right to find out the social impact of the products purchased.

A global network

Clean clothes campaign - CLEAN FASHION - WE ARE CLEAN

The Clean Clothes Campaign now brings together a network of 230 associations all over the world. It includes non-governmental organisations (NGOs) and workers’ unions, with regional coalitions in Europe, south Asia, south-east Asia and east Asia.

The Campaign is active in 15 European countries: Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and the UK.

Photo : © Clean Clothes Campaign

The Clean Clothes Campaign’s means of action    

The network of associations and ONGs working within this organisation is aimed at both private-sector and public-sector actors. Which ones, though?

  • Brands and distributors, to have them monitor the production conditions of the goods that they sell, guarantee that their buying practises promote progress for the employees of their suppliers and subcontractors whilst emphasising trade union freedoms, and to have them undergo independent audits including the actors concerned (trade unions, NGOs, consumer movements, representatives of the authorities).
  • Nations and international institutions, to have them guarantee the application and upholding of fundamental workers’ rights afforded under international labour organisation [Organisation Internationale du Travail – OIT] agreements.
  • Local and regional authorities, to have them undertake to make ethically-sound purchases.
  • Citizens, through information campaigns on the actual cost of clothing items and all that is hidden behind products that are purportedly ethically sound. Once aware, they become consumers who are themselves able to apply pressure to the authorities, are free to buy or not buy certain products, and are themselves able to speak out against brands that are less than ethically sound.

In France, the ethically-sound label collective [Collectif Éthique sur l’étiquette] 

Collectif éthique sur l'étiquette

The ethically-sound label collective is the name of the French branch of the Clean Clothes Campaign. As a registered association under French law [association Loi 1901], it brings together some 20 international solidarity associations, trade unions, consumer movements and popular education associations. Its action goes beyond the clothing sector and focuses on all labour-intensive sectors, including the toy and sporting goods sectors.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Clean-campaign - WE ARE CLEAN - Clean for good

Qu’est-ce que la Clean Clothes Campaign ?

On est tout content d’acheter un tee-shirt à petit prix dans une grande enseigne. Cet achat peut cacher la large contribution de l’industrie de la mode et du textile à l’exploitation humaine avec les salaires moyens les plus bas au monde (source Ademe), des usines insalubres, quand les travailleurs ne sont pas des prisonniers de camps de travail dans des pays totalitaires. Depuis 1989, des ONG et associations se sont fédérées pour informer et faire bouger les choses, c’est la Clean Clothes Campaign.   

Responsabiliser les multinationales de l’industrie du textile, faire en sorte que la main d’œuvre – délocalisée dans des pays où son coût est faible et les droits sociaux quasi inexistants – travaille dans des conditions décentes et puisse faire respecter ses droits, telle est la croisade de la Clean Clothes Campaign. 

Son ambition : des conditions de travail dignes 

Créé aux Pays-Bas en 1989, la Clean Clothes Campaign a pour but de sensibiliser l’opinion sur les conditions de travail des ouvriers des sous-traitants textiles. Cette campagne Clean Clothes internationale a pris de l’ampleur après les différentes catastrophes qui ont eu lieu notamment au Bangladesh dans les années 2000 : l’effondrement de l’usine Spectrum en 2005 (64 morts et plus de 80 blessés), l’incendie de l’usine Tazreen en 2012 (112 morts) et celui de Smart Export en janvier 2013 (8 morts), et évidemment l’effondrement de l’immeuble Rana Plaza à Daca en 2013 (1127 morts). Cette année, c’est le sort des Ouïghours, communauté turco-musulmane de Chine, placée en camps de travail forcé et utilisée comme main d’œuvre par de grandes marques, qui remet ce sujet sur le devant de la scène. Ainsi que celui des sous-traitants non payés par de grandes enseignes pendant la première vague de la pandémie de Covid-19. 

La Clean Clothes Campaign a ainsi élaboré un « Code du Travail » pour l’Industrie du textile et du sportswear qui pose, entre autres principes, un âge minimum, des heures fixes de travail, des équipements sécurisés et le droit à un salaire décent. La Clean Clothes Campaign fait pression sur les distributeurs et les fabricants afin qu’ils adoptent ce « Code of Labour Practices », code des pratiques au travail. Elle œuvre aussi pour l’égalité salariale, le droit des femmes et le droit du consommateur à connaître l’impact social des produits qu’il achète. 

Un réseau planétaire 

Clean clothes campaign - CLEAN FASHION - WE ARE CLEAN

Aujourd’hui la campagne Clean Clothes fédère un réseau de 230 associations à travers le monde, organisations non-gouvernementales (ONG) comme syndicats de travailleurs avec des coalitions régionales en Europe, Asie du Sud, Asie du Sud-Est, Asie orientale. 

Elle milite dans 15 pays européens : Allemagne, Autriche, Belgique, Danemark, Espagne, Finlande, France, Irlande, Italie, Norvège, Pays-Bas, Pologne, Royaume-Uni, Suède et Suisse. 

Photo : © Clean Clothes Campaign

Les moyens d’actions de la Clean Clothes Campaign

Le réseau d’associations et ONG œuvrant au sein de cette organisation s’adresse à la fois à des acteurs privés et publics. Lesquels ?  

  • Les marques et les distributeurs, pour qu’ils veillent aux conditions de production des marchandises qu’ils commercialisent, garantissent que leurs pratiques d’achat favorisent le progrès social chez leurs fournisseurs et sous-traitants en insistant sur la liberté syndicale, se soumettent à des vérifications indépendantes incluant les acteurs concernés (syndicats, ONG, mouvements de consommateurs, représentants des pouvoirs publics) 
  • Les États et les institutions internationales, pour qu’ils garantissent l’application et le respect des droits sociaux fondamentaux issus des conventions de l’OIT (Organisation Internationale du Travail) 
  • Les collectivités territoriales pour qu’elles s’engagent à faire des achats éthiques 
  • Les citoyens, par le biais de campagnes d’informations sur le coût réel des vêtements et sur tout ce qui se cache derrière les produits revendiqués éthiques. Avisés, ils deviennent alors des consommateurs capables eux aussi de faire pression sur les pouvoirs publics, libres d’acheter ou non certains produits et de dénoncer eux aussi les marques non éthiques 

En France, Le Collectif Ethique sur l’Étiquette 

Le Collectif Ethique sur l’Etiquette est le nom de la branche française de la Clean Clothes Campaign. Association Loi 1901, elle regroupe une vingtaine d’associations de solidarité internationale, des syndicats, des mouvements de consommateurs et des associations d’éducation populaire. Son action dépasse le secteur de l’habillement et se concentre sur tous les secteurs à forte intensité de main-d’œuvre, incluant les jouets ou les articles de sport. 

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *