Stella McCarnetny

Stella McCartney, the pioneer of environmentally-responsible fashion

For more than 20 years now, Stella McCartney has been reconciling the irreconcilable and forging ahead while pulling many of the big names of fashion along in her wake. So who is she?
Daughter of Paul McCartney (from The Beatles) and his wife Linda, an American musician and photographer, Stella McCartney was born in England in 1971. She had a very uncomplicated upbringing on a farm in Sussex, where the family grew its own vegetables and farmed its own sheep. She lived a “hippie” lifestyle with her parents, who by that time had become militantly vegetarian after having stayed at an ashram in India, at a time when it was not yet commonplace to do so. Here’s the life story of this visionary woman, the first to have married up green fashion and style.

First and foremost a superwoman 

Fashion, true fashion, was a passion of McCartney’s from early childhood onwards. Just after secondary school she went on to attend the famous Central Saint Martins school of fashion in London.

Two years after graduating, she took over from Karl Lagerfeld as Creative Director of Chloé, thereby quadrupling the fashion house’s sales.

Four years later, in 2001, McCartney set up her own fashion house within Kering group. At barely 30 years old! Two years later, she opened 3 stores (in London, Los Angeles and New York) where a trendy young customer base promptly adopted her stylish, on-trend brand. She went on to have her clothing line distributed in 40 countries.

This young prodigy didn’t stop there. In 2003 she created her Stella perfume with L’Oréal, and her beauty product line named Care (certified organic, free of parabens, preservatives and silicon, in biodegradable packaging).

In 2008, McCartney created an upscale lingerie line, with retro embroidery, made from organic biodegradable fabric. She also created accessories, which is how her Falabella bag came to be. Made from plant-based leather, it’s still a best-seller (and has been since 2010). Then came a childrenswear collection (Stella Mc McCartney Kids) with the same eco-friendly approach, and eyewear. She went on to create a second perfume, a menswear collection and a swimwear line, all while bringing up her four children.

A subtle alliance between glamour and a principled stance

glamour et engagement - WE ARE CLEAN - CLEAN FASHION

Like her mother, McCartney is a vegetarian, and also an eco-warrior standing up for animal rights at PETA. She was also the first to raise the fashion industry’s awareness of environmental responsibility.

Right away, her militant stance revolutionised fashion by shunning fur and leather, and also mohair, angora and feathers. Instead, she favoured all-natural materials and synthetic ones like neoprene and imitation leather. 

This was a radical break from all that had gone before, especially on the luxury scene where fur and leather were staples. McCartney explains that “50 million animals a year are killed just for the fashion industry, and the link between food, diseases and the environment is a global problem. Even if it can cost 70% more, we absorb these costs in our profit margin and develop our products differently, without using glue that comes from horses, pigs or fish.” 

Idealism that turns into pragmatism

The indefatigable Stella McCartney is a firm believer in collaborations, whereby she imposes the same uncompromising approach fostering environmentally-responsible fashion on the brands that she works with.

For 20 years now she has been working with Adidas, for which she creates sportswear collections with clothes that are comfortable, made from performance fabrics and on trend. Adidas by Stella McCartney comprises jogging, gymnastics, yoga, tennis, winter sports and cycling apparel as well as swimwear. She also kitted out Team Great Britain for the 2012 Olympic Games, so successfully that she did the same four years later for the Olympics in Rio de Janeiro.

McCartney also collaborates on capsule collections with Gap and H&M, and here too, this iconic figure imposes her values and demands when it comes to sustainability. Her determination goes as far as revising the laundry care labels on H&M clothes to get consumers to launder their clothes less frequently. For Target Australia she created 42 designs made from natural fabrics. It’s actually a movement that makes her mark wherever she goes!

Vouching for green at big fashion corporations

At Kering group McCartney set ethics-driven targets for the whole group’s procurement. Then, in 2018, she took full over full control of her brand.

At the same time she opened a new store in London, which she said was the most sustainable yet, thanks to its air purification technology.

In 2019, she began a collaboration with LVMH and was enlisted as sustainability advisor to Bernard Arnault.

Innovation applied to naturalness

Manteau Koba - WE ARE CLEAN - CLEAN FASHION

That same year, her runway show featured Natalia Vodianova, dressed in black Koba, a biodegradable type of plant-based fake fur. Her collection was more eco-friendly than ever and a burst of innovation, developed using materials like raffia, organic cotton and regenerated nylon. 

In 2020, she took it even further by unveiling creations designed using mushroom fibre. First came a bag, then clothes, made from a material named Mylo. Made out of mushroom filaments, it’s said to be infinitely renewable. McCartney designs her own sustainable materials, and strives to reduce the environmental impact across the whole manufacturing process. 

A sensual feminine feel and high-quality cut, easy-to-wear stretch clothes for women with an active lifestyle, oversized jumpers, gossamer blouses, floaty dresses, stretch trousers in attractive muted colours… Stella McCartney’s style reconciles desirability and environmental responsibility like only she can.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Stella McCartney - WE ARE CLEAN - CLEAN FASHION

Stella McCartney, pionnière de la mode écoresponsable

Depuis plus de 20 ans, Stella McCartney concilie l’inconciliable et trace son chemin en entrainant dans son sillage de nombreux grands noms de la Mode. 

Qui est-elle ? Fille de Paul (Les Beatles) et de sa femme Linda, une musicienne et photographe américaine, Stella McCartney est née en 1971 en Angleterre. Elle grandit très simplement dans une ferme du Sussex, où la famille cultive ses légumes et élève ses moutons. Elle vit en « hippie » avec des parents devenus militants végétariens à la suite d’un séjour dans un ashram en Inde, à une époque où ce n’était pas encore fréquent. Parcours de cette femme visionnaire, la première à avoir marié Green fashion et Style. 

Une super woman avant tout 

La Mode, la vraie, la passionne depuis qu’elle est petite et elle intègre juste après le lycée, le célèbre Saint Martins Collège de Londres (Ecole de Mode).

Deux ans après son diplôme, elle remplace Karl Lagerfeld chez Chloé en tant que Directrice Artistique, et elle multiplie les ventes de la maison par quatre.

Elle crée 4 ans plus tard sa propre maison (en 2001), au sein du groupe Kering. Elle a à peine 30 ans ! Deux ans plus tard, elle ouvre 3 boutiques (à Londres, Los Angeles et New York) où les jeunes branchés s’approprient illico sa marque chic et tendance à la fois, puis distribue sa ligne de vêtements dans 40 pays.

Ce petit prodige ne s’arrête pas là. Elle crée en 2003 son parfum Stella avec L’Oréal et sa ligne de cosmétiques Care (certifiés bio, sans parabens, sans conservateurs, sans silicones, dans des emballages biodégradables).

En 2008, elle crée une ligne de lingerie fine, brodée façon rétro, en matière organique et bio dégradable, des accessoires (c’est là que naît son sac Falabella en cuir végétal, toujours un best-seller depuis 2010). Puis une collection pour enfants (Stella Mc McCartney kids) avec la même éthique écologique, et des lunettes. Elle enchaîne avec un 2e parfum, une collection hommes, des maillots de bain. Et pendant ce temps, elle élève ses 4 enfants.

Subtile association du glamour et de l’engagement

glamour et engagement - WE ARE CLEAN - CLEAN FASHION

Végétarienne comme sa mère et militante écologique au sein de la PETA pour défendre les droits des animaux, c’est aussi la première à avoir sensibilisé l’industrie de la mode à l’éco-responsabilité.

Tout de suite, son militantisme révolutionne la mode en boycottant fourrure et cuir, mais aussi mohair, angora et plumes, pour privilégier les matériaux naturels à 100 % et les synthétiques, comme le Néoprène ou le simili cuir. 

C’est une rupture radicale, surtout dans le monde du Luxe où la fourrure et le cuir étaient incontournables, mais elle explique que « 50 millions d’animaux sont tués uniquement pour l’industrie de la mode et le lien entre la nourriture, les maladies et l’environnement est un problème global. Même si cela peut revenir 70 % plus cher, on absorbe ces coûts dans notre marge et on élabore nos produits différemment, sans colle de cheval, de cochon ou de poisson. » 

Un idéalisme qui se transforme en pragmatisme

Infatigable, elle est adepte des collaborations et impose aux marques avec qui elle coopère la même démarche pour une mode éco-responsable, sans compromis. 

Elle travaille depuis 20 ans avec Adidas pour qui elle fait des collections sport avec des vêtements confortables, techniques, tendance. Adidas by Stella Mac McCartney, ce sont des tenues de jogging, gymnastique, yoga, tennis, natation, sports d’hiver, cyclisme. Elle habille aussi les sportifs anglais pour les JO de 2012, avec un tel succès qu’elle recommence 4 ans plus tard pour les JO de Rio.

Elle collabore aussi avec Gap et H&M à des collections capsule, et là encore cette icône impose ses valeurs et ses exigences en matière de durabilité. Une détermination qui va jusqu’à revoir les étiquettes H&M pour apprendre aux consommateurs à effectuer moins de lavages. Pour Target Australia, elle crée 42 modèles en matériaux naturels. En fait, c’est un mouvement qu’elle imprime partout où elle passe ! 

La caution green des grands groupes de mode

Au sein du groupe Kering, elle fixe des objectifs éthiques qui concernent tous les achats du Groupe, puis elle reprend le contrôle total de sa marque en 2018.

Au même moment, elle ouvre un nouveau magasin à Londres, dont elle dit qu’il est le plus durable, grâce à son procédé de purification de l’air.

En 2019, elle inaugure une collaboration avec LVMH et devient la conseillère de Bernard Arnault sur le développement durable.

L’innovation au service de la naturalité

Manteau Koba - WE ARE CLEAN - CLEAN FASHION

La même année, son défilé fait apparaître Natalia Vodianova, vêtue d’une fausse fourrure noire d’origine végétale et biodégradable, le Koba. Sa collection, plus écologique que jamais, est un feu d’artifices en matière d’innovation, élaborée à partir de matières comme le raphia, le coton bio et le nylon régénéré. 

En 2020, elle va encore plus loin en présentant des créations conçues à partir de fibre de champignon. D’abord un sac, puis des vêtements dans une matière appelée Mylo, faite à partir de filaments de champignons, présentée comme renouvelable à l’infini. Elle conçoit ses propres matières durables et éthiques high tech et s’efforce de diminuer l’impact environnemental sur tout son procédé de fabrication. 

Une féminité sensuelle, des coupes d’une grande qualité, des vêtements souples et pratiques pour femmes actives, des pulls over size, des blouses arachnéennes, des robes floues, des pantalons souples, dans des coloris chics et sobres… Le style Stella McCartney réconcilie comme personne désirabilité et éco-responsabilité.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *